Schedule

Schedule updated November 10, 2008

The books you have to purchase are followed by (book). All other readings are collected in the course reserve materials at the P&CC.

See Required Texts for information on recommended editions, what is available on campus, and links to some online versions.

Mon Sept 8 Introduction
Wed Sept 10 Aristophanes, The Frogs
Mon Sept 15 Aristophanes, The Frogs cont.
Wed Sept 17 Plautus, Miles Gloriosus
Mon Sept 22 Plautus, Miles Gloriosus cont.
Wed Sept 24 Scala, The Jealousy of Isabella
Mon Sept 29 ThinkTank 1: Comedy as Social Commentary
Wed Oct 1 Aeschylus, The Oresteia (book)
Mon Oct 6 Aeschylus, The Oresteia cont.
Wed Oct 8 Aeschylus, The Oresteia cont.
Due: Theatrical Concept Assignment Part I: Setting & Context
Mon Oct 13 THANKSGIVING – No Class
Wed Oct 15 Everyman
Mon Oct 20 Matsukaze
Wed Oct 22 ThinkTank 2: Tragedy in Contemporary Society
Mon Oct 27 Hrostvitha, Dulcitius
Wed Oct 29 Hrostvitha, Dulcitius cont.
Mon Nov 3 Shakespeare, As You Like It (book)
Wed Nov 5 Shakespeare, As You Like It cont.
Mon Nov 10 Molière, Tartuffe
Due: Theatrical Concept Assignment Part II: Visual Palette
Wed Nov 12 Molière, Tartuffe cont.
Mon Nov 17 Calderón, Life is a Dream
Wed Nov 19 Calderón, Life is a Dream cont.
Mon Nov 24 CLASS CANCELLED
Wed Nov 26 Double Performance Day, and Exam Prep: Ask now or forever hold your peace! (sort of)